Volkswagen Eos Forum banner

Water pump or not

6K views 5 replies 4 participants last post by  Paparazi 
#1 · (Edited)
I was a VW technician a few years ago so I kind of know the answer before I ask it. However, what is your opinion.
My car; a 2007 EOS with a 2 litre Turbo engine TFSI BWA code. Has covered just 18,000 miles since new. It has had around 6 VW service stamps and a couple of indy's in that time but I can't see any evidence of a cambelt change.

My plan is to fit a genuine cam belt but I really don't feel it will need idlers, a tensioner and a pump....yes I know about the consequences and that's why I am changing the belt purely on age. The belt I can pick up for about £26 but the kit is another £100.

So my feeling is; at 18K and about 5K each year whilst in my ownership, I am being foolish just changing the belt, or, should I push the boat out and fit a pump as well?

Martin

#2 ·
Tough call on the water pump since your car has such low mileage. Smart after nine years to do the timing belt no matter what, because I'm sure age is a factor in belt condition.

Given the amount of labor involved, I'd still probably replace the water pump (and the rest of the parts) when doing the belt. I'm always a big proponent of "while you're in there" parts replacement because I hate tearing things apart again for something I could have easily replaced. That way you know you're good until the next belt change, which could be a while if you continue to accumulate miles at a slow rate.

#3 ·
I went through similar thinking on MY07 TDi at about 40K. The local motor factor had an after market German made cam belt and roller kit for a fair price. I either went to EuroCarParts or GSF (?) and the kit was about £65 (belt only about £25). As the car was below 60K I decided NOT to replace the water pump until I had checked for any bearing wear.