RCD510 MY09 - SD Card Formatting - VW Eos Forum : Volkswagen Eos Forums

Go Back   VW Eos Forum : Volkswagen Eos Forums > Volkswagen Eos Forum > VW Eos Tech Q&A

VWEosClub.com is the premier VW Eos Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2008, 11:50 PM   #1
silvershadow
Ageing Revhead/Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Taree NSW Australia
Posts: 1,461
Default RCD510 MY09 - SD Card Formatting

The RCD510 SD input is specified as accepting SD cards up to 2Gb in size.

When I first tried a 2Gb card loaded with tested mp3 files, I received an error message saying the card could not be read. I then tried a 1Gb card with the same files which worked fine.

After some detective work, I discovered the 1Gb card was formatted with the basic Windows FAT file system whereas the 2Gb card had been formatted with the later NTFS file system. Reformatting the 2Gb card to FAT and reloading the files proved successful.

If you experience problems with card read failures, checking the card format to make sure it is in the windows FAT file system should be the first step before blaming the card/multimedia system.

Now to see if I can get the system to play 4Gb SD cards .
__________________
Carer for my partner's Eos 2.0 TDI DSG MY09 Australian specification - Candy White/Cornsilk Beige leather trim.

Last edited by silvershadow; 11-02-2008 at 04:07 AM.
silvershadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-02-2008, 11:38 AM   #2
Barchetta
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: West Sussex, England.
Posts: 208
Default

Totally does away with IPODs' and CD changers in all cars really. That is a really good tip as I had the same problem in mine.I thought it was the way I installed it.

I had the RCD 500 Satnav and upgraded to the RCD510, I have just formatted the card and it works.

Thanks a huge amount

Rob
__________________
2.0TFSI Individual in Met Black
Black nappa with cornsilk
Every extra apart from zenons'
APR switchable chip
Carbonio cold air intake
Forge hoses in Red
KW Coilovers( How low can you go )
Phillips Ultra-Bright Bulbs
( 40 year old child acting 20 )
Barchetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 02:16 PM   #3
Hornet9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Leamington Spa
Posts: 101
Default

4Gb cards do not work, I've tried!
__________________
Hornet9

2.0 TFSI, Shadow Blue, Cornsilk Leather, Chicago Alloys, Dual Climate, Cruise Control, Bi-Xenons, Sat-Nav, Dynaudio, iPod, Multi-Function Steering Wheel, Luxury Pack, Winter Pack
Hornet9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 07:36 PM   #4
cambourne7
Senior Member
 
cambourne7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 162
Default

2gb is fine really just to move stuff over, so far on mine i have all the harry potter audio books, the lord of the rings sound tracks (yes all 3 films) and about 9 or 10 foulders with about 60 songs in each

It does however take a while to copy things over and getting the structure right can be a but of trial and error

Still totaly brillant no having to prep cds

cam
__________________
=====================================
Eos 2.0 Tdi Manual, Salsa Red, Black Leather with heated seats, 2 zone air con, Multifunction steering wheel, wind deflector, Cruise control, touch screen sat nav. 2009 model which common rail engine.

Have luggage will travel
cambourne7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 11:20 PM   #5
silvershadow
Ageing Revhead/Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Taree NSW Australia
Posts: 1,461
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hornet9 View Post
4Gb cards do not work, I've tried!

Hornet9 and everyone else, I have some good news for you.

I purchased a 4Gb Sandisk SDHC card yesterday and have been able to get it to work on the RCD510 when formatted in both the Windows FAT and FAT32 formats. I loaded 3Gb of files [mixed in sub-folders and as individual files visible in the main menu] in FAT32 format to see if there were any problems with over 2Gb of content [this being the limit given in the owner's manual] without any problems being experienced with playback including from the sub-folders. The Windows NTFS format definitely does not work on SD cards of any capacity and I do not have access to an Apple Mac to test the formats compatible with Apple Mac computers so will have to leave this to others to test for me.

Hornet9, a possible explanation could be your files came from an ipod and were in mp4 format - I cannot get mp4/m4a files to work on the RCD510.

If anyone has an ipod and wishes to convert their mp4 files to mp3 audio for use in their vehicle I use a freeware Windows program called Quick Media Converter [donations are requested from happy users]. This is available for download from Major Geeks and other safe download sites.

Next trip to the city in a fortnight, I will get an 8Gb SDHC card to test as this should also be OK .
__________________
Carer for my partner's Eos 2.0 TDI DSG MY09 Australian specification - Candy White/Cornsilk Beige leather trim.
silvershadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 07:54 AM   #6
Dobbo
Member
 
Dobbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Slough, UK
Posts: 74
Default convert using iTunes

You can do the conversion from iTunes itself.

Select the music you want to convert, right click and select 'Create MP3 version'. Be aware though that this will double up the entries in your iTunes library.

Personally, I set the import settings (Edit->preferences->general->import settings) as MP3 so that whenever you import a CD it is always done as MP3 rather than the native AAC format.
__________________
Dobbo
EOS 2.0 TDi Sport (2008 model), Pearl Black, Red Nappa, Luxury pack, factory fit Aux-in, Wind Deflector, Parrot MK6100 bluetooth hands free and GDW detachable tow bar.
Dobbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 02:14 AM   #7
smj0
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ivanhoe, VIC, Australia
Posts: 1
Smile 16Gb SD card works sometimes?

Hi Guys, just took delivery of our Salsa Red 2009 EOS. I have beeing trying to get a generic 16GB SD Card to work. The new manual insert says up to 32GB is supported. I have found that a few Cd's worth is OK (<2Gb) but then tried it with 9GB and it refuses to work.

I will try with another SanDisk 16GB card I have in my dSLR camera and see how it goes. Like to know at what point it refuses to read the SD card.

Apart from this amount of data, the sound is great.

regards Shane
smj0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 05:30 AM   #8
silvershadow
Ageing Revhead/Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Taree NSW Australia
Posts: 1,461
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smj0 View Post
Hi Guys, just took delivery of our Salsa Red 2009 EOS. I have beeing trying to get a generic 16GB SD Card to work. The new manual insert says up to 32GB is supported. I have found that a few Cd's worth is OK (<2Gb) but then tried it with 9GB and it refuses to work.

I will try with another SanDisk 16GB card I have in my dSLR camera and see how it goes. Like to know at what point it refuses to read the SD card.

Apart from this amount of data, the sound is great.

regards Shane

Hi Shane,

Be careful of the formatting of your camera card - it might be a proprietary format specific to your camera. The card formatting is supposed to be SDHC which seems to be standard Windows FAT32 formatting. Also the music formatting has to be mp3 or wav only. If you can read these mp3/wav files on your computer card reader, you should be able to read them on the RCD510.

I will be back in the city on Wednesday [the Eos is getting its routine post-delivery check by the dealer] and will be buying some more high-capacity cards while I am there to experiment with. The largest in stock was 8Mb 4 weeks ago and 2Gb is the biggest i can get locally.

Currently converting and combining Jeff Wayne's "War of the Worlds" for the trip down .
__________________
Carer for my partner's Eos 2.0 TDI DSG MY09 Australian specification - Candy White/Cornsilk Beige leather trim.
silvershadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 05:28 AM   #9
midician
South Australian Owner
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 162
Default microSD with Adapter Works

Just thought I'd let everyone know that my 2GB microSD card works with the Sandisk SD adapter. I am now looking for a 16GB microSD card or 32GB SD card... will post experiences later...



Quote:
Originally Posted by silvershadow View Post
The RCD510 SD input is specified as accepting SD cards up to 2Gb in size.

When I first tried a 2Gb card loaded with tested mp3 files, I received an error message saying the card could not be read. I then tried a 1Gb card with the same files which worked fine.

After some detective work, I discovered the 1Gb card was formatted with the basic Windows FAT file system whereas the 2Gb card had been formatted with the later NTFS file system. Reformatting the 2Gb card to FAT and reloading the files proved successful.

If you experience problems with card read failures, checking the card format to make sure it is in the windows FAT file system should be the first step before blaming the card/multimedia system.

Now to see if I can get the system to play 4Gb SD cards .
__________________
midician
Salsa Red Diesel 2010 Cornsilk Beige Vienna, DSG, Alarm, Tinted windows
midician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 11:43 PM   #10
silvershadow
Ageing Revhead/Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Taree NSW Australia
Posts: 1,461
Default

I have since used an 8Gb SDHC card successfully so do not expect any problems with larger cards.
__________________
Carer for my partner's Eos 2.0 TDI DSG MY09 Australian specification - Candy White/Cornsilk Beige leather trim.
silvershadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 02:18 PM   #11
enedoPak73
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Send a message via ICQ to enedoPak73
Default RCD510 MY09 SD Card Formatting

i have close to 2 gigs free on a 20 gig iriver hp-120, but it wont let me copy any more files onto it....it just freezes....

whats a good way to clear the data off and start fresh?
enedoPak73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 08:39 PM   #12
silvershadow
Ageing Revhead/Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Taree NSW Australia
Posts: 1,461
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enedoPak73 View Post
i have close to 2 gigs free on a 20 gig iriver hp-120, but it wont let me copy any more files onto it....it just freezes....

whats a good way to clear the data off and start fresh?

I presume you are using Windows so the following applies - perhaps one of our members with a Mac can translate the following:

It is not uncommon for SD cards to have data encryption software included as a feature by the manufacturer and these are usually in hidden files on the card. They can be found by opening the Windows Control Panel, go to the "Folder Options" file, select "View"and then click on "Show hidden files and folders" in the "HIDDEN FILES AND FOLDERS" folder. Click OK then use Windows Explorer to check what is on your SD card. The easiest way to delete any unwanted software is to backup the files you want to keep and reformat the card in FAT32 format. Note, you will not be able to use the entire space on the card as some space is taken by the directory for the files to be stored on the card.

If you have any problems, please post details.
__________________
Carer for my partner's Eos 2.0 TDI DSG MY09 Australian specification - Candy White/Cornsilk Beige leather trim.
silvershadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 12:16 PM   #13
midician
South Australian Owner
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 162
Default 32GB SDHC card works

Just got my SDHC 32GB card and it works fine in my 2010 Eos.

Can someone tell me if the RCD 510 can utilise playlists and how to create them?
__________________
midician
Salsa Red Diesel 2010 Cornsilk Beige Vienna, DSG, Alarm, Tinted windows
midician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 07:13 AM   #14
SiJ2000
Ex Moderator/Ex EOS Owner
 
SiJ2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: LONDON
Posts: 1,488
Default

I would recommend FAT32 from a technical perspective... To address the bigger volumes, you would need that anyway!
__________________
Simon
_____________________________________________
NO LONGER EOS OWNER
Decided to go ECO and downsize!

Any technical advice I have given was from my own experience and is not endorsed by VW!
So please don't sue me if something breaks! I'm just trying to be a helpful friend!!!
SiJ2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 05:13 AM   #15
midician
South Australian Owner
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 162
Default 32GB SD card

Have played more with my SD card and here is the latest:

1. Have a FLAT directory structure or else your SD card will be "procesing" for up to 5 minutes ! ie all files in 1 diretory.
I have found a nice freeware program to do this called Copy All to One.

2. You can utilise playlists to sort them out thereafter. In order to keep your playlists at t he begining, make sure you label them AA-something. Playlist Creator is another nice freeware program for this.

Playing through up to 16gb of music so far....sweet !
__________________
midician
Salsa Red Diesel 2010 Cornsilk Beige Vienna, DSG, Alarm, Tinted windows
midician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 08:40 AM   #16
SKIDOO
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NOTTINGHAMSHIRE UK
Posts: 798
Default

I wish I knew what the hell your all talking about !!!!
But then again perhaps I don't - happy converting to you all.

If any of you know anything about downloading snowmobile trails onto a Garmin GPS could you pm me as I need to do it and havent a clue about that either!
Gary
__________________
Silver Essence, Red Nappa, 2.0 Sport, DSG, T-FSi,Cruise Control, iPod Prep.Solitudes,Wind Deflector
SKIDOO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2010, 06:28 AM   #17
midician
South Australian Owner
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 162
Default Track Name display wrong when advancing

I have a 32GB SD card. Loaded with over 4000 tunes in 6 different folders.

When playing a particular track, if I decide to forward to the next track, often the RCD display shows the old track name and artist etc. Is this because of a slow SD card? It is the fastest around- a Class 6.

Does this require a firmware upgrade or something fixable?
__________________
midician
Salsa Red Diesel 2010 Cornsilk Beige Vienna, DSG, Alarm, Tinted windows
midician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2010, 08:00 AM   #18
pauls
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by midician View Post
I have a 32GB SD card. Loaded with over 4000 tunes in 6 different folders.

When playing a particular track, if I decide to forward to the next track, often the RCD display shows the old track name and artist etc. Is this because of a slow SD card? It is the fastest around- a Class 6.

Does this require a firmware upgrade or something fixable?
Hi Midician,

I had the same problem and reported it in my last service. They said that they were able to reproduce the problem on my car (using an SD card they had) and a different car but there is no firmware update to fix. It seems to be a problem no matter how big a card it is. Only happens sometimes and also happens with my iphone. I did read a somewhere else that said others were experiencing this. Not sure where at the moment. I asked them to forward on to Volkswagen, so it can be fixed, but don't know if this happened.

Paul
pauls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2010, 09:21 PM   #19
silvershadow
Ageing Revhead/Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Taree NSW Australia
Posts: 1,461
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pauls View Post
Hi Midician,

I had the same problem and reported it in my last service. They said that they were able to reproduce the problem on my car (using an SD card they had) and a different car but there is no firmware update to fix. It seems to be a problem no matter how big a card it is. Only happens sometimes and also happens with my iphone. I did read a somewhere else that said others were experiencing this. Not sure where at the moment. I asked them to forward on to Volkswagen, so it can be fixed, but don't know if this happened.

Paul

It is a simple processor speed problem - a more expensive faster processor would fix this problem. It is no different to upgrading your computer with a new processor to make it faster. The existing chip is more than adequate for converting the inputs into sound but needs more grunt to process large directories.
__________________
Carer for my partner's Eos 2.0 TDI DSG MY09 Australian specification - Candy White/Cornsilk Beige leather trim.
silvershadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2010, 11:15 PM   #20
midician
South Australian Owner
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 162
Unhappy Processor too slow?

Underdesigned? But that would mean that small directories will not have this problem and smaller SD cards would also be unaffected.

For a computer, reading directories is a BASIC function and if it cannot do so then, there is a big problem.

Will raise this with my Dealer when its in to get the other problems fixed. Groan! Another problem.....Can I suggest that all Eos owners raise this issue with their dealers? Its like political lobbying- if there are enough complaints it will get fixed.
__________________
midician
Salsa Red Diesel 2010 Cornsilk Beige Vienna, DSG, Alarm, Tinted windows
midician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2010, 12:27 AM   #21
Darkknight
Quiet~Flight
 
Darkknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 149
Default

I am very happy with the functionality of the RCD510. So much so that I signed up for iTunes and downloaded a song. Then to discover I have no apple device and the song does not save as an MP3 file. So, I then activated my 30 day free Napster software that came with this 3yr old computer..lol. Again, paid .99 for the same song and tada... its now in my car on the HD. Just love that I can pick and choose songs "I LIKE" vs. buying an entire cd. (where have I been all these years???)

Last edited by Darkknight; 06-23-2010 at 12:29 AM.
Darkknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 07:17 AM   #22
midician
South Australian Owner
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 162
Default No firmware upgrade fix

Raised the issue of SD card track names not updating when forwarding to the next trrack with dealer and guess what- they say its a problem with my SD card even tough the music plays ; which proves that the files is being read OK. C'mon VW surely this is a firmware fix! Can we start a petition for VW to respond to this minor but irritating issue?
__________________
midician
Salsa Red Diesel 2010 Cornsilk Beige Vienna, DSG, Alarm, Tinted windows
midician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 10:57 AM   #23
PrimoOptimoso
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by midician View Post
I have a 32GB SD card. Loaded with over 4000 tunes in 6 different folders.

When playing a particular track, if I decide to forward to the next track, often the RCD display shows the old track name and artist etc. Is this because of a slow SD card? It is the fastest around- a Class 6.

Does this require a firmware upgrade or something fixable?
Midician: Does this mean the 2048-file limit (regardless of card size) is untrue or has been lifted? I believe I read about that both here and at other fora while lurking before I finally signed up.
PrimoOptimoso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 12:57 AM   #24
midician
South Australian Owner
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 162
Default SD card

I have over 4000 files on one folder, 6 folders total with half my music collection....it works and I can access all files.

A workaround of the track info not updating is to pause play before advancing the track and that seems to work.....
__________________
midician
Salsa Red Diesel 2010 Cornsilk Beige Vienna, DSG, Alarm, Tinted windows

Last edited by midician; 07-12-2010 at 12:59 AM.
midician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 12:10 PM   #25
PrimoOptimoso
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Midician -

I finally got around to getting a 32gb sd card for my Eos. Sadly, I am not experiencing the same luxury as you are. I have tried the flat-directory thing, and the list of files isn't as long as the actual card contents. I've tried the one-layer-of-directories thing, with each artist having a folder, but not the albums (just goes artist-song) and I have culled down to 415 artist folders or so, and still the list only gets to the Ss (and T is where all artists starting with "The" are located!). Easily 30% of my library is just not being read from the card, and I've slimmed it down to less than 3000 files!

And forget 5 minutes, mine is processing for 15. Every time i start the car.

=0(
PrimoOptimoso is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 07:05 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.