Volkswagen Eos Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've got a 2008 Eos 2.0L Turbo with a factory Dynaudio system (original owner). I gather that the head unit is a BNO 881 (DVD Nav). I'm happy with the sound, but it has pretty old-school navigation software. I'm a daily user of Android Auto in my other car, and I've been wanting to upgrade the Eos for a while.

Key requirements for me are:
- Android Auto Support (highly prefer wireless). The Kenwood DMX906s is appealing.
- Low-to-no noise/hiss when volume setting is at normal level but no music is playing (i.e., when driving with music off, but Google Maps is giving periodic driving directions).
- Good sound. I'm not an audiophile, but I don't want to lose too much compared to the current setup.

I don't need CD/DVD or built-in Nav.

I'm no car audio expert - but I am an engineer, so I thought I'd take on the project myself. I took the plunge and - following Crutchfield's guide - bought an Alpine ILX-W650 head unit along with their recommended wiring harnesss (combination of: Axxess ASWC-1 Steering Wheel Control Adapter; and Axxess XSVI-9003-NAV Interface Harness)

It's been a bit of a fiasco. I've learned a lot - but finally ended up returning everything. The steps I went through were:

1. Used recommended wiring kit. Literally smoked. Returned harness.