Volkswagen Eos Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For a while, my 2013 roof would not operate, giving a false Close Luggage Cover error. I discovered that if I used my finger to push the luggage cover switch in and out a few times, the error would go away and the roof would operate. Either I pushed too hard one time, or whatever holds the switch in place gave out, but I pushed the switch into its housing, and the roof is now completely inoperable.

Is this a repair I can likely do myself? I’m a decent home repair amateur, diagnosed and fixed different home appliances, but was aided in those repairs by online videos. I haven’t found a video depicting replacement/repair of the luggage cover switch.

Also, if my switch needs replacement, not just reseating in its proper place, can anyone give guidance on ordering the correct part?

·
Registered
8,066 Posts
The big problem with that switch is it only has short wires connecting it to the loom making it easy to get mislocated when fitting it. I lengthed the wire pair on mine. It's only a simple lever type microswitch.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Well! Couldn’t find any online videos describing this repair, so thought I’d just bushwhack my way through. Those plastic rivets holding the trunk liner in place, those are NOT German engineering. A T20 Torx bit is supposed to fit in them, but I couldn’t get them out that way. A couple I had to just muscle out with a nail puller. I wrenched the trunk liner up enough to feel around, found a dislodged switch, blindly inserted it in the moving plastic piece that makes contact with the luggage cover clip, and . . . !! Roof works again.
Wheel Tire Car Vehicle Plant

·
Registered
8,066 Posts