Volkswagen Eos Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi! It's my first time posting but I've lurked around a little.

I have a 2008 Eos, purchased used in 2012 with only 12k miles on it at the time. Up to 60k now and my "car child" is doing awesome for the most part.... except for the damn water ingress problem that just popped up. I missed out on the class action lawsuit, wasn't even aware of it until this.

Last time it rained the floor on the front and rear passenger side flooded. Carpeting was completely soaked, rest of the car totally dry. Took me about a week to even realize the flooding happened because I had rubberized mats in the car and the tops of them were dry and there were no obvious leaks I could see and no water running down the inside of the car.

Took the Eos in to a place specializing in German cars. They flushed out the roof drainage tubes that drain to the front of the car, said the passenger side one was completely blocked. Got the car totally dry, no smell. Have been airing out the car constantly, driving around blasting the heater through the floor vents only, removed the floor mats.

We got a little rain and when I got in this morning I discovered that the front and rear passenger carpets were damp again. Rolled the seat forward to inspect the back carpet and discovered three sizable rubbery :eek: MUSHROOMS :eek: coming out of the carpet under the seat. The carpet was totally dry when they grew, I did a full interior cleaning of the car 6 days ago and so it's amazing how fast this happened!

So... does anyone have any advice as far as:

1 - What do I do now? Is this a bigger issue than getting the tubes cleaned out?

2 - I think they only flushed the tubes that drain along the front of the car, out the bottom near the door hinge. Are there other tubes that drain elsewhere that maybe they didn't get?