Volkswagen Eos Forum banner

Ignition coils go bad every other winter?

4K views 5 replies 3 participants last post by  voxmagna 
#1 ·
I have had my 2007 Eos 2.0T for 7 years now, and it seems every other winter as soon as we have a few 20 deg or colder nights I have one or more ignition coils fail. Nothing worse on a cold morning then for your car to all of a sudden run terrible or not start at all. At least I am a pro at changing them now. I have tried replacing them with OEM VW parts from the stealership, Bosch, Denso, and now just the cheapest ones on Rock Auto because it seems like a sure bet that I will get a failure as soon as it gets cold in 2 years. Does anyone else have this problem? Am I doing something wrong?

#2 · (Edited)
I have a 2007 Eos owned since new with a 121,000 miles. Never had that issue. There was a recall for the coils early on and I had mine done, even though it didn't seem to be needed. Either you have been victim to a string of bad coils or have some type of installation issue or an electrical issue or some type of spark plug over heating issue or problematic spark plugs. Are they properly gapped? See if someplace like Advance Auto can loan you the use of an Infra Red thermometer. Check and see if any of the cylinders are running hot. Maybe the heat is killing the coils. May seem like a wild idea but seems worth investigating.

#3 ·
Agree, What seems to kill these coils is extreme changes in heat. The high voltage winding uses very fine insulated wire and the whole assembly is dipped in some kind of plastic to keep it all sealed. With extreme changes of heat the copper windings and plastic can expand and contract at different rates causing the HT winding to break. In really bad cases I have seen fine cracks visible in the molded plastic (check yours).