Volkswagen Eos Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
South Australian Owner
Joined
·
192 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone,

I am looking at upgrading my RCD510 factory fitted unit to a Chinese RCD 330 plus.

Planning on doing the install myself. Looks simple enough.

Can anyone offer any advice of what to watch our for and any pitfalls during installation ?

I have a 2010 Eos, manufactured late 2009, so from my reading and research, will not require any CANBUS or steering wheel adapters, just the antenna 2 into 1 cable. Right ?

Also any advice on WHICH Chinese RCD 330 would be useful- there are Noname brands and Desay and from different manufacturers too...Carplay is a must, so the 187B model is a must.

Thanks in advance !
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
329 Posts
Hi,

I think you'll find that if you do a site search for RCD330, your answer will probably be in there. I had my RCD330 installed by a pro so I'm not of any help but I DO love the unit and I'm really glad I bought it. I also had to have the dealer do a bit of programming stuff so that the optical parking thingy worked properly.
 

·
Member
Joined
·
497 Posts
Not done any research on the Chinese model but would it be less complicated to get a genuine VW unit?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,009 Posts
There's a forum www.rcd330plus.com which is dedicated to this, and has a bunch of information about which models there are, coding and so on.
 

·
South Australian Owner
Joined
·
192 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
Update:

Got the unit yesterday.

Ordered the cables to match- here you need some caution- i was provided a y antenna cable with 2 single FAKRA on one end and 1 on the other. This does NOT fit- i had to shave off some bits of the plugs to get it to fit side by side. Best you get a cable with 1 FAKRA to TWIN FaKRA .

Aside from this hitch, which took me 20 minutes to correct, the rest of the install was easy as pie. 40 minutes all up.

Reversing sensor disply works. Bluetooth is fantastic, and audio quality is equivalent to the old 510.

Canbus adapter not required for my year of manufacture.

SD card reading error however. I understand its a formatting issue. Currently formatted as fAT and needs to be exFAT. This fixed it and the SD card is read 10 times faster than the old RCd510 did.

Phone button on the steering wheel also activates the phone menu on the nit and once all the contacts are imported, i can make calls without touching my phone.

Anyone have ideas of how to activate Siri using the steering controls?

Very happy.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,009 Posts
Which model did you end up getting?

I think your story (everything "just works") will be true for anyone with a facelift Eos. It's the pre-facelift ones that will have issues like the CAN gateway, MFD and so on. Also anyone with Dynaudio, apparently the RCD330 doesn't always accept the coding.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Sounds like you have an iPhone - so I'm guessing you didn't get the Android Auto capable version? Wondering how well that works on the RCD330.
 

·
15' Black Pearl / Titan
Joined
·
15 Posts
I installed an RCD330 in my 2015. It was 100% 'plug & play'. Everything works perfectly (including all steering wheel controls). There was no coding, no adaptors, no additional wiring harnesses needed. I've had it in there now for about three months and love it. I mainly upgraded to it for the CarPlay, which is excellent. As it turns out, the 'Chinese brands' are actually factory VW units. For whatever reason, they do not advertise them as such, but they are indeed OEM Volkswagen equipment.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
I installed one in my wifes 2009 model with no issues at all. I understand if you have the red in dash display and round steering wheel buttons they are not compatible. Hers has the white display and the rectangular "button in button" steering wheels controls so everything works.

Had it almost 8 months now and am very happy with it. The Carplay is great, it makes my 2018 Toyota Prado's entertainment and navigation feel so outdated.
 

·
South Australian Owner
Joined
·
192 Posts
Discussion Starter #10 (Edited)
Found out how to activate Siri- click on Phone>Voice control


Another minor hitch is that if you have playlists including items on the icloud only, during Bluetooth connection it does not play those songs. Works when you have Carplay connected.

Also- the 32GB SD card I bought for use is not accepted- it apparently only reads up to 16GB cards.

The unit I have is Android capable, but I don't have any Android phone to test it on.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
2,360 Posts
Midician,

What formatting is on the SD card?

I remember your past problems in your early days of Eos custodianship and the problems we experienced with the RCD510 taking a long time to retrieve the file directories:

https://www.vweosclub.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1853

We still have the RCD510 as SWMBO prefers to use CD's rather than memory cards.

.
 

·
South Australian Owner
Joined
·
192 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
I tried to format the SD card in all formats FAT, FAT32 and NTFS.
For the 32GB on the 510, FAT32 was OK. But- the RCD 510 read the card very slowly.

The new RCD330 reads a 16GB card instantly. I mean no delay whatsoever between menus choices. I highly recommend the RCD330 as a replacement. The 16GB card reads when formatted as FAT32, but I have it formatted as exFAT now, and it works like a charm.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
I installed an RCD330 in my 2015. It was 100% 'plug & play'. Everything works perfectly (including all steering wheel controls). There was no coding, no adaptors, no additional wiring harnesses needed. I've had it in there now for about three months and love it. I mainly upgraded to it for the CarPlay, which is excellent. As it turns out, the 'Chinese brands' are actually factory VW units. For whatever reason, they do not advertise them as such, but they are indeed OEM Volkswagen equipment.
I also have a 2015 Eos which includes an OEM backup camera. Like you everything works great with my RCD 330 but not the back up camera. I can't see how to hook it up. It came with an extra cable for this but no obvious way to make the connection. Thoughts?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,009 Posts
Show us the connections you have for the RCD330 and from your OEM reversing camera. (If it’s hard to get a good picture of the wiring, a photo of the old head unit where the wire used to go would work too.)

One thing is the connectors themselves; the second is whether the camera is composite or RGB. And then there’s probably coding to do to enable it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Show us the connections you have for the RCD330 and from your OEM reversing camera. (If it’s hard to get a good picture of the wiring, a photo of the old head unit where the wire used to go would work too.)

One thing is the connectors themselves; the second is whether the camera is composite or RGB. And then there’s probably coding to do to enable it.
Show us the connections you have for the RCD330 and from your OEM reversing camera. (If it’s hard to get a good picture of the wiring, a photo of the old head unit where the wire used to go would work too.)

One thing is the connectors themselves; the second is whether the camera is composite or RGB. And then there’s probably coding to do to enable it.
22863
22864
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,009 Posts
Aha! You had an RNS315, and the camera plugged into the wide rectangular connector. That means you have an RGB camera, and you need an adapter like this one to make it fit with the composite input on the RCD330.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Aha! You had an RNS315, and the camera plugged into the wide rectangular connector. That means you have an RGB camera, and you need an adapter like this one to make it fit with the composite input on the RCD330.
Thank you!! I’ll order this and get an expert to install. Looks like it’s a bit more than I’m capable of doing myself. Excited to get it to work! It’ll be like a 2017 EOS, if they had ever made one. Mine’s a Final Edition.
 
1 - 17 of 17 Posts
Top