Volkswagen Eos Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2011 EOS Highline
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Thanks for the warm welcome to this forum. I discovered this place while looking for a solution to a problem with our EOS. This is our 4th convertible and our 1st EOS. My wife is the primary driver but allows me to maintain it for her and drive it when we travel. It's a 2011 Highline model and it had 78K km when we bought it in June 2020. It's her favourite convertible of the ones we've owned. I had to replace one HID lamp last summer but other than that we've been trouble free until we took it out of winter storage last week. I treated the rubber seals and noticed that the roof rails were not lining up properly while lowering into the trunk. I'll do more searching on this forum and post under the proper heading when I solve my problem.
I'm a retired electrician and have done most of my own maintenance and repairs on my motorcycles but usually left any 4 wheel vehicle maintenance in the hands of trained mechanics. EOS roof mechanics are not easy to find nearby so may be stuck with my current problem.
Thanks for any tips you may offer and I hope to be an asset to this forum.

·
Registered
8,066 Posts
When the roof comes up to close, the 'pegs' in the side arms should be absolutely central with the holes they go into. There are some plastic guides (still available as spare part kits) others have had go worn which control the 'kickout' of the top side arms. Getting to the parts and knowing the pitfalls in advance isn't easy and many regular garages won't touch it. You can get a paid for EOS shop manual from online sellers such as factorymanuals.com. Don't think you can launch into these beasts without first reading and even then it won't cover everything as a set of step by step instructions for a DIYer. What it will tell you is the service tools required and often there's a clue there as to potential (pun) critical parts of their procedure.