Volkswagen Eos Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I am new to this and I am looking to get a EOS for my daughter who is getting her P’s
As well as a second car , my question is should I buy one if so what to look at or avoid.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
8,066 Posts
There's plenty here to search for. These are cars with a complex roof system. Think what could happen if she's away from home and the roof stops half open? Do you have technical experience for DIY repairs or is there a service shop close to you with an experienced EOS roof technician?

When you buy a car for yourself and are prepared to spend time learning and repairing it DIY, there's a certain amount of enthusiasm, joy and pleasure of achieving a repair. When you buy a car for somebody else and you are the maintainer, the joy and pleasure of driving is theirs, but the hassle, inconvenience, time off road and cost of repairs becomes your problem!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the response,
Yes I am handy but I don’t think I would want another project at this stage as I have a few on the go , also ate these roofs prone to leaking.

·
Registered
93 Posts
Hi,
I am new to this and I am looking to get a EOS for my daughter who is getting her P’s
As well as a second car , my question is should I buy one if so what to look at or avoid.
No, don't buy her one. As VOX points out, the convertible roof is the Achilles heel. Very complex and when they do fail, consider yourself lucky if it fails in the up position. Very nice car to drive with much more HP than your daughter needs. Auto trans can be quirky as well.

Look for a Civic or Accord or similar rice rocket. Run forever and cheap to drive and maintain.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·